Mount Maunganui Golf Club have won the major gong at The National Golf Awards as we take the opportunity to celebrate excellence and dedication across the whole New Zealand golfing community.

2018 saw over one hundred high-quality submissions across 13 different categories that cover both the playing and administration of the game, but it was the new-look Mount Maunganui Golf Club who took home one of the main awards.

Michael Williams who has been at the helm of the club for nearly two years is proud of the changes and support the club gets from everyone involved.

“The Mount Golf Club is incredibly proud to have won this award. It is great recognition for some of the initiatives and changes the club has made in recent times as we strive to be a leading club in New Zealand. It is also great recognition for the board, staff and large numbers of volunteers that make a huge contribution to the club on an annual basis,” said Williams.

New Zealand Golf CEO Dean Murphy was excited to be able to celebrate this year’s recipients and ensure everyone involved in the game is recognized from not just our elite players, but everyone behind the scenes at club level too.

“Historically we’ve always focused on the playing of the game and while we’re keen to make sure we keep those awards alive and recognize those that perform on the playing side, we’re really keen to recognize those people who deliver the sport, whether that’s in the volunteer, administrator or service capacity,” said Murphy.

An independent judging panel including sport administrators, media, professional golfers, golf administrators and sport governors came together in February to select the finalists and winners of each category.

After rigorous debate and discussion, the winners and finalists for each category are below. Congratulations to all who were nominated and thank you for your support to the game of golf.

All winners will be recognized at a formal dinner in Auckland at the end of this month. New Zealand Golf would like to congratulate to all winners and finalists. Nominations for the 2019 National Golf Awards will open 1 October.

Delivery/Administration Awards

Club of the Year -
Mount Maunganui Golf Club

Finalists - Russley Golf Club, Muriwai Golf Links

Manager of the Year - Michelle Campbell (Hastings)

Finalists - Hayden McCullum (Waitemata), Andrew Jackson (Muriwai), Michael Williams (Mount Maunganui)

Administrator of the Year - Des Topp (Golf Managers Association, NZ Golf Industry Council)

Finalists – Pire Wehi (Rangatikei), Haydee Wilton (Wellington Golf Inc), Malcolm Wood (Aorangi Golf)

Volunteer of the Year – Pire Wehi (Rangitikei)

Finalists – Alvin Russell (Maungakiekie), Malcolm Cooper (Muriwai, Harbour Golf), Denys Cringle (Paraparaumu), Alison Hutchins (Hukanui), Alec Foreman (Castlepoint)

All Abilities Golfer of the Year – Parker Aluesi (St Clair)

Community Coach of the Year – Mary Gard’ner (Paraparaumu)

Finalists – Stuart Thompson (Whitford), Rhys Watkins (Manawatu/Wanganui Golf), Ray Tuffin (Mornington), Malcolm Wood (Aorangi Golf)

Professional Coach of the Year – Marcus Wheelhouse

Finalists – Rodney Yee (Russley), Alistair Sidford (Boulcotts Farm Heritage)

Player Awards

Professional Player of the Year Female – Lydia Ko

Professional Player of the Year Male – Ryan Fox

Finalists – Danny Lee, Nick Voke.

Amateur Player of the Year Female - Wenyung Keh

Amateur Player of the Year Male – Daniel Hillier



    1 Jones, Samuel 115.78
    2 Lee, Jang Hyun 83.56
    3 Zheng, Jimmy 73.73
    4 Ford, Jayden 66.16
    5 Bai, Joshua 66.10
    1 Chung, Darae 260.13
    2 Son, Yeonsoo 110.19
    3 Xu, Fiona 93.60
    4 Im, Amy 69.80
    5 Kang, Sumin 69.60