Auckland have won the New Zealand Women’s Interprovincials for a fourth year in a row, getting revenge on Manawatu/Wanganui in a tense final at Maraenui Golf Club.

Auckland etch their name on the interprovincial trophy for the eighth time in the last 10 years, overcoming a strong Manawatu/Wanganui outfit 3-2 in the final who sent shock waves throughout the event beating the champions in round robin play.

Auckland have also completed a rare double with the men winning at Hastings Golf Club just a week earlier.

The Manawatu/Wanganui side came out swinging after defeating Bay of Plenty in a playoff in the semi-finals to reach the big dance this afternoon. Number five Lily Griffin raced out of the blocks with stellar golf on her front nine, jumping to a 5up lead against Grace Jung.

This deficit would be too large for Jung to comeback from, eventually succumbing to Griffin 5&4, giving Manawatu/Wanganui their first point on the board.

Angela Ju has been a rock all week for Auckland in the number four spot, going undefeated throughout pool play and winning her semi-final match.

Her performance in the final would be no different, beating Lisa Herbert 5&3 to get Auckland well back in the mix and level the contest 1-1 with three matches still out on the course. She also went undefeated throughout the tournament.

Auckland’s Carmen Lim would also get some revenge of her own in the number three match. Brydie Hodge managed to mount an incredible comeback on Lim in their round robin fixture, claiming a crucial point in their win yesterday.

However, Lim proved to be too strong in the final keeping her nose in front the entire match. She’d eventually win 4&2 to get Auckland’s second point on the board and within touching distance of an interprovincial trophy.

That point would come from Auckland number two, Fiona Xu.

She overcame Zhou Yi Hu who was running hot after defeating Bay of Plenty number two Jessica Green in a playoff to send Manawatu/Wanganui to the final. Xu proved too steady in the final, defeating Hu 3&2 to give Auckland their fourth title in a row.

Manawatu/Wanganui’s Tara Raj beat Vivian Lu in the top match to go undefeated for the entire week, and deservedly wins player of the tournament.

Auckland will look to defend their title next year at home, at Akarana Golf Club.

The men’s side will also look to defend at Whitford Park Golf Club.

For more information, please contact


Auckland Manawatu Wanganui, Vivian Lu lost to Tara Raj 3/2, Fiona Xu def Zhou Yi Hu 3/2, Carmen Lim def Brydie Hodge 4/2, Angela Ju def Lisa Herbert 5/3, Grace Jung lost to Lily Griffin 5/4

Semi Finals

Manawatu Wanganui 3 Bay of Plenty 2 Tara Ray def Caitlin Maurice 5/3, Zhou Yi Hu def Jessica Green 19th hole, Brydie Hodge def Aroha Tito 2/1, Lisa Herbert lost to Taylor-Rose Perrett 3/2, Lily Griffin lost to Susan Short 5/4

Auckland 4 North Harbour 1, Vivian Lu def Anna An 2up, Fiona Xu def Vaha Fapiano 6/5, Carmen Lim def Eunseo Choi 3/2, Angela Ju def Yeonsoo Son 5/4, Grace Jung lost to Danika Lee 1 down

Playoff for 5th

Wellington 3 Canterbury 2, Darae Chung lost to Maddie May 1 down, Erika Cui lost to Amy Weng 5/4, Alanah Gullery def Olive Tapu 1up, Shontalia William def Melissa Newburn 5/4, Yewoo Hyun def Jasmine Clancy 3/2

Playoff for 7th

Waikato 4 Aorangi 1, Zahraa Bester def Ginny Bolderston 5/3, Jill Morgan def Angela Gerken 4/2, Sarah Hancock def Catherine Knight 1 up, Robin Pellow lost to Lynda Brown 2 down, Sian Stevenson def Kathryn Baker 4/2

Playoff for 9th

Otago 3 Northland 2, Sumin Kang def Shardae Bulkeley 1up, Danielle Bailey lost to Kylie Jacoby 1 down, Tracey Storer def Sjanna Bishop 3/2, Susan Greig lost to Jenny Peters 1 down, Amy Johns def Alayna Cox 2/1

Playoff for 11th

Tasman 4 Hawkes Bay Poverty Bay 1 Lizzie Neale def Tessa McDonald 2/1, Eve Clarke def Janie Field 3/1, Emily Stenhouse def Clare Choi 2/1, Amber Boyce lost to Martha Manaena 5/4, Tracy Bary def Fiona Ellis 5/4



    1 Jones, Samuel 115.78
    2 Lee, Jang Hyun 83.56
    3 Zheng, Jimmy 73.73
    4 Ford, Jayden 66.16
    5 Bai, Joshua 66.10
    1 Chung, Darae 260.13
    2 Son, Yeonsoo 110.19
    3 Xu, Fiona 93.60
    4 Im, Amy 69.80
    5 Kang, Sumin 69.60