Bay of Plenty have won the Freyberg Masters at Timaru Golf Club, going through the event without losing a game.

The unbeaten Bay of Plenty men dispatched of Poverty Bay East Coast and North Harbour to take them to eight competition points; a total that could not be reached by any other side.

Canterbury also went through the tournament undefeated, but halves against champion side Auckland in round five and Aorangi in round eight proved costly for the men in red and black.

The Bay of Plenty outfit entered the day knowing the task at hand: two wins and the tournament was theirs. They had a half point lead over Canterbury, with Auckland and Wellington sniffing not too far behind.

The Bay beat Poverty Bay East Coast in the morning by four points to one, with number three Marcus Lloyd maintaining his unbeaten record for the week with a 2/1 victory. They then faced a very tough North Harbour outfit in the afternoon and managed to get one over their North Island rivals three points to two.

Those two results locked up the title, with a chasing Canterbury unable to hunt the men from the Bay, despite beating Northland in the afternoon. The half against Aorangi meant they needed North Harbour to beat the Bay to have any chance at the title.

It wasn’t to be for Canterbury with the spoils going to the bay. Marcus Lloyd was named the player of the tournament for his unbeaten effort. His crucial wins helped his side win the title.

Other unbeaten players include Tony Chettleburgh (Manawatu Wanganui), Brett Dormer (Northland), Malcom Gullery (Wellington), Aaron Forsyth (Canterbury), and Jason Sincock (Canterbury).

Congratulations to Bay of Plenty who are your 2019 Freyberg Masters champions. Canterbury were unlucky not to win but can be proud of their second-place effort, with Wellington taking home the bronze.



    1 Jones, Samuel 128.00
    2 Brettkelly, Dominic 80.00
    2 Kay, Nic 80.00
    4 Hilton, Reid 49.60
    5 Clarke, Dale 48.00
    1 Ju, Angela 80.00
    1 Woo, Yoonji 80.00
    3 Kang, Sumin 72.53
    4 Kim, Hae Seung 58.56
    5 Li, Rianne 52.80