Bay of Plenty have taken over the Freyberg Masters reigns and are in the box seat to take out the championship tomorrow evening.

They’re one of four teams who are still in with a shot at the title.

They’ve moved to the top of the ladder after wins over Taranaki and Manawatu Wanganui. They sit on six competition points, half a point clear of Canterbury and Auckland who are lurking just behind the men from the Bay.

Only Poverty Bay and North Harbour stand in their way from securing the title.

Looming just behind is Canterbury who had wins over Manawatu Wanganui and Taranaki to be snapping at the Bay’s heels. They’ve been anchored by number four and five Aaron Forsyth and Jason Sincock who both have a perfect week thus far. Their team need to beat Aorangi and an improving Northland if they want to contend for the title. They’ll also need the Bay to get a half or a loss in one of their final two matches tomorrow.

The most successful team in the history of the Freyberg are also a chance come tomorrow evening. Like Canterbury, they sit on five and a half competition points, but trail Canterbury on game points.

The Aucklanders got up over North Harbour in the morning and then Hawkes Bay this afternoon to keep their title hopes alive. They have the toughest draw tomorrow of the title contenders with Manawatu Wanganui and Wellington; who are still waiting for the other teams to slip up.

Other unbeaten players this week are Dell Bain (Auckland , Brett Dormer (Northland), Tony Chettleburgh (Manawatu/Wanganui), Malcolm Gullery (Wellington), Marcus Lloyd (BOP), and Mike Trass (Wellington).

We are set for a couple of showdowns tomorrow with a couple of results all that separates the top four teams.

Play commences tomorrow morning.



    1 Jones, Samuel 128.00
    2 Brettkelly, Dominic 80.00
    2 Kay, Nic 80.00
    4 Hilton, Reid 49.60
    5 Clarke, Dale 48.00
    1 Ju, Angela 80.00
    1 Woo, Yoonji 80.00
    3 Kang, Sumin 72.53
    4 Kim, Hae Seung 58.56
    5 Li, Rianne 52.80