The Toro Interprovincials have been the highest honour in team’s golf since 1949 and they are set to tee off at the country’s highest province commencing Monday, December 4.

Northland’s picturesque Sherwood Park and Mangawhai Golf Club will co-host the 2017 event which has an exciting new format with both the women and men playing over the same week (women 4-8, men 5-9 December).

Not only will Northland be welcoming teams from all around New Zealand, they will be trying to beat them and record their first ever win in the 66 years of the men’s event.

To help them achieve this slice of history is their number one amateur Luke Brown who has enjoyed a busy year of golf and now has plenty of experience to look back on after his second Asia-Pacific Amateur and NSW Open. He will be joined by the welcome return of Kadin Neho who has enjoyed two years away from the game to play as their very dangerous number five for the week.

However, their biggest hurdle is defending champions Wellington who have once again put together an extremely strong side and have their sights set on nothing but back to back titles.

Their outstanding line-up makes it hard to argue with, as two-time New Zealand Amateur champion Daniel Hillier is set to continue his match-play dominance. He will be joined by Asia-Pacific Amateur teammate, Kerry Mountcastle who has also had a year to remember.

They too have a lethal number five with the experienced Jono Cane who played a huge role in their 2016 victory playing up in the number two position.

Canterbury will be looking to improve on their seventh-place last year and have the team to do it with New Zealand Amateur finalist Tom Parker leading his side out with Matt McLean close behind him at number two.

These two have featured throughout the summer and with Dominic Brettkelly as their very strong number five, they are more than a chance next week.

Allow to display images

Auckland will aim to make their district even bigger as they attempt to take over the Northland region for the women’s Interprovincials.

They are in search for their seventh title in just nine years and looking at their 2017 side, they are hot favourites to achieve this.

The inform Rose Zheng will lead from the front after making the New Zealand Amateur final, only to fall short against the impressive 14-year-old Silvia Brunotti who will play as number one for her North Harbour side.

Behind Zheng is recent Jennian Homes Charles Tour winner Caryn Khoo who claimed a memorable victory at the Ngamotu Classic and returns to the Toro’s for the first time since 2010.

From there Brittney Dryland, Carmen Lim and Siyi Keh round out an imposing looking side.

Canterbury and Bay of Plenty have been recent contenders of the title, but face some adversity after losing key members this year.

Amelia Garvey has had to pull out with golf commitments at Southern California University in America on the horizon, while Hillary O’Connor has also been a late scratching to expose the usually strong Cantabrians.

For the same reasons we see Alanna Campbell also missing this year after heading to Iowa State University, leaving Bay of Plenty to rely on the experience of Grace Senior and Jodae Ngaheu.

With the door wide open, the scenery, weather and best teams in the country, this is bound to be an exciting week of golf as we look to crown two Toro Interprovincial champions.

However, the inaugural winners have gone on to be the most successful teams in each competition and both are defending champions this year. The Auckland women’s team won their 24th title last year and the men’s Wellington team their 14th.


With both events played just one day apart, there will be the first of two opening ceremonies this Sunday at 5:00pm with the men’s on Monday at the same time.

This year we celebrate the 10th year of Toro supporting our amazing Interprovincial championships and with them, the event and talent it produces continues to grow, much like grass.




    1 Jones, Samuel 115.78
    2 Lee, Jang Hyun 83.56
    3 Zheng, Jimmy 73.73
    4 Ford, Jayden 66.16
    5 Bai, Joshua 66.10
    1 Chung, Darae 260.13
    2 Son, Yeonsoo 110.19
    3 Xu, Fiona 93.60
    4 Im, Amy 69.80
    5 Kang, Sumin 69.60