Waikato have won the 2015 Toro Interprovincials to become back to back champions. They have once again beaten an established Otago outfit in the final at the Invercargill Golf Club.

In what could be described as more typical Southland conditions, rain was more than consistent as well as the Waikato golfers as they won in convincing fashion 4&1.

Luke Toomey def Duncan Croudis 4/3 Nick Coxon def Nick Borren 4/3 Denzel Ieremia lost to Brent McEwan 2/1 Sam Vincent Fraser MacLachlan 1 up Chris Charlton def Chris Snow 4/3

Looking back at the semi-final, Waikato showed why they are a champion team, being behind late into the match to fight back and win with the final putt. Waikato were led by their number one and player of the tournament Luke Toomey who sunk a 25 foot putt to make a simply superb birdie on the last and steal victory from a dejected Luke Brown of Northland.

“I wasn’t overly nervous at the time because I had no choice but to make the putt, for it to go in was a special feeling,” beamed Toomey.

“I’m incredibly proud of everyone, what a week. I can’t single anyone out, each one of us performed when they needed to. Right through number one to all the management, it’s a great team.”

Waikato number five Chris Charlton who is new to the team led Waikato out well all week finishing with a record of six wins from eight matches. He set the platform for this Waikato side which no doubt gave the rest of the team confidence.

“I’m bloody stoked, wrapped for the boys to get over the line,” said Charlton.

“Thought I played well this week and happy to try get the boys off to a good start. We came into this week wanting a win and nothing else, so it’s nice to achieve that.”

This win has been a great team effort all week and although they are a young bunch, they carry a lot of experience with four from five players being part of the win last year and all playing in the same order.

Sam Vincent who only lost two of his eight matches, was all smiles as they achieved a goal that was set this time last year.

“All we were thinking about this year was going back to back so it’s pretty sweet to see our name on the trophy two years in a row,” said Waikato number four Vincent.

“I was getting toasted at the start but just kept the faith and had a good stretch through the middle, but I’m just proud of the guys around me.”

The only shining light for Otago this afternoon was that of Brent McEwan finishing his representative career on a high. He defeated Denzel Iremia 2/1 in his 103rd and final game. However he has never won the Toro Interprovincials which will leave a small gap in his superb career.

It has been a sensational week in the far South, with the weather playing its part until today and with the course in tremendous condition.

The local course greenkeepers of Craig Tinker and his side-kick Daniel O’Conner have been working day and night to bring the course up to the standard it has been all week. They were joined by Ben Finn of Paraparaumu to form a remarkable team that worked around the clock for the country’s biggest team event.



    1 Lee, Jang Hyun 141.71
    2 Smail, Charlie 70.86
    3 Jones, Samuel 70.29
    4 Kobori, Kazuma 57.14
    4 Zheng, Jimmy 57.14
    1 Son, Yeonsoo 86.85
    2 Chung, Darae 73.47
    3 Kang, Sumin 69.60
    4 Im, Amy 59.69
    5 Raj, Tara 54.49