Southland re write the history books 

The star of the team was Robyn Pullar who contributed 127 points towards the team’s total of 368 gross stableford points.


Played over four rounds, the three top scores, round by round contribute to the team total. Boniface had 122 points and Kerry Mariu, 119. Fiona Murray who with the others has been a member of this tight unit for a fifth time, had no counting cards this year, such was the consistency of the other three.

Southland led by 15 points going into the final round this morning, and finished with the same margin, ahead of 2nd placed Auckland.

Auckland did not have one of their traditional strong starts to the tournament with the long time anchor of the team, Brigit Holford being the non-counting player, uncharacteristically for the first two rounds.

However Holford, and the rest of team saved the best to last with a belting 99 points today to deny Waikato second place. Holford had 31 points, past New Zealand representative Lisa Herbert (Aldridge), 35 and Sian Kelly, playing in her first masters, 33 points. Herbert’s 35 was the best round of the day. Scarlette Jeon the non counting card with 26 points.

Waikato left Helensville Golf Club, the host of the 24th New Zealand Women’s Masters, wondering ‘what if, after earlier leading by 7 shots after the first round.

Winners back in 2013, their three subsequent rounds could not keep up with Southland’s run-away golf, nor Auckland’s charge today. Waikato finished 13 shots behind Auckland, on 340, after a disappointing final round of 85 today.

Heather Keefe playing for Bay of Plenty took out the Canterbury Shield for the leading individual with 134 points. Keefe who has played for the Bay for many years as the older ‘statesman’ in the Interprovincial team has played solidly all week and started the day with a 5 shot lead over Pullar from Southland.

While she had the ‘speed-wobbles’ with a double bogey and bogey in the first five holes her home run of 35 off the stick for 20 points including an eagle on the par 4 18th, gave her the prestigious trophy.

Bay of Plenty finished in fourth place with 332 points, one place back from their 3rd place in 2014.

The big mover of the tournament however was Northland - with new-comers Samantha Dangen and Alayna Cox joining the team for the first time - finishing in 5th place, up 7 places from last years 12th placing.

North Harbour failed to capitalise on their home advantage, coming in at 6th place with a total score of 319, but one place higher than their 2014 finish.

But the day belonged to Southland who have dominated this tournament for the last eight years with 6 titles and two 2nd place finishes. They are a formidable team and will no doubt be the one to beat again in 2016, the tournaments 25th anniversary. New Zealand Golf have yet to announce the venue.


1st 368 - Southland 87, 95, 88, 98

2nd 353 - Auckland 80, 91, 83, 99

3rd 340 - Waikato 94, 85, 76, 85

4th 332 - Bay of Plenty 79, 86, 87, 80

5th 327 - Northland 79, 84, 77, 87

6th 319 - North Harbour 78, 77, 87, 77

7th 316 - Taranaki 81, 73 80, 82

8th 300 – Otago 80, 71, 67, 82

9th 297 - Hawkes Bay / Poverty Bay 72, 80, 74, 71

10th 275 - Wellington 70, 63, 75, 67; Canterbury 75, 62, 67, 71

12th - 274 Aorangi South Canterbury 63, 65, 77, 69

13th - 273 Tasman 78, 61, 65, 69

14th - 263 Manawatu / Wanganui 60, 69, 69, 65



    1 Lee, Jang Hyun 124.00
    2 Jones, Samuel 80.25
    3 Zheng, Jimmy 76.75
    4 Kobori, Kazuma 70.00
    5 Smail, Charlie 69.83
    1 Chung, Darae 100.13
    2 Son, Yeonsoo 86.85
    3 Kang, Sumin 69.60
    4 Kobori, Momoka 66.67
    5 Im, Amy 60.64