Wellington golfer Julianne Alvarez has dominated the opening 18 holes of the New Zealand Amateur Championship Final at the Manawatu Golf Club while Northland golfer Kadin Neho has delivered a spirited fight back to lead in the Men’s Championship.


Alvarez is 5up over Waikato No.1 Hanna Seifert at the halfway stage as the New Zealand rep played clinical golf in the first 18 holes. She was four under par in the overcast and windy conditions.

“I have been sticking to my game plan and I have played really nicely so far,” said Alvarez.

“I have putted well today and I am hitting it close which helps make the birdie putts more make-able and I am taking those opportunities.

“There is a long way to go. I am just going to stay patient and persistent. It is pretty exciting to be in this position.”

If Alvarez is able to hold on to her lead this afternoon she would follow in the footsteps of NZ golf legend Lynnette Brooky as the only other player from the Manor Park Golf Club to win the NZ Amateur Trophy.

She would also become the eighth golfer from Wellington to have won the trophy after Miss L. Wilford (1896, 1897), W.E Bidwell (1902), A E Pearce (1905), Miss Collins (1910, 1912), Miss L. Brandon (1911), Brooky (1993) and Sarah Nicholson (2004).

Meanwhile Seifert needs to deliver a good comeback to become the first golfer from the Lochiel Golf Club to claim the NZ Amateur Championship.

“I have got off to a bit of a slow start and Jules has played really nicely,” said the 21-year-old.

“I am definitely not going down without a fight so I will give it my all to deliver the comeback of the century.”

Seifert is trying to be only the third player from the Waikato province to win the title following in the footsteps of Miss Gina Scott (Kawhia) in 1995 at the Russley Golf Club and J. Oliver (Waiterimu) who won at the Hutt Golf Club in 1997.


There is still a long way to go but at the halfway stage Alvarez is on the cusp of claiming her biggest win at the Manawatu Golf Club.




    1 Clarke, Dale 96.00
    2 Curnow, Brent 48.00
    2 Millington, Douglas 48.00
    4 Cormack, Matthew 25.92
    4 Wilson, Mike 25.92

    Order of Merit data is currently unavailable please check back later