Bay of Plenty has continued their remarkable record at the Toro Men’s Interprovincial by winning the national team provincial championship for the seventh time in 11 years at the Otago Golf Club.



It was a gripping final between the Bay and Manawatu/ Wanganui which went to a playoff between the No.4 players Victor Janin (BOP) and Junior Tatana after an impressive comeback from the 2011 finalists.


The par five first was halved in pars as both players showed nerves under the pressure beforeJanin took the advantage of the second playoff hole. He hit his approach shot to within five feet of the hole in the decisive moment of the final.


In response Tatana's chip shot finished 12 feet short of the hole and when he missed his par attempt Janin made his birdie putt to win the title for the Bay of Plenty. A jubilant Bay of Plenty team charged the green to celebrate the unlikely come-from-behind win.


“It is absolutely unbelievable,” said team manager Aaron Walsh.


“We talked about being brave and showing courage all week. Those were the two key words and Victor showed that for us when it mattered most in the final. It is phenomenal to be standing here as champions after a really great

match with Manawatu/ Wanganui. I am just so proud of our boys.”


It could have been so different for Manawatu/ Wanganui who were looking to win the title for the first time since 1964. They  had the chance to win the tournament in regulation. Tatana was 1up heading down the final hole and made a costly double bogey to halve the match with Janin.


“That was the most nervous I have ever been playing golf,” said the 21-year-old Janin about his four foot putt for bogey to keep his team alive.


“I could feel my knees shaking. To see that go in was huge relief and then to go on and win in the playoff was a huge moment - the best moment of my golf career without a doubt.”


Walsh said continuing the Bay’s incredible record was the most pleasing thing about the win.


“To win seven out of the last 11 Toro events is a great run. We have had some lucky moments along the way but there is no doubt that this team deserves everything they get. There is always an expectation for Bay teams at the Toro and a culture where winning is part of the make-up. To carry that on after the pain of missing out last year, well, it feels pretty good.”


Peter Lee, who went undefeated all week, was the named as the Player of the Tournament.


“It is a huge honour to claim that award with the great players that are here,” said the 18-year-old.


“It was never my goal at the start of the week but to win that is special. I just wanted to win as many times as I could for the Bay team and in the end I had a great week. I drove the ball really straight and that set up a lot of opportunities for me and also put pressure on my opponents.” 


Manawatu / Wanganui, who were looking to back up their win at the SBS Invitational, started with so much promise.


TheirNo.5 Hayden Ring defeated his Bay opponent Landyn Edwards 2up to set the tone. Ring made a crucial birdie on the 17thto move to 1up and then par on the final hole to win the opening tie.


Bay of Plenty No.2 Lee got the 2011 beaten finalists back in the match with a 4 and 3 win over Manawatu’s Lachie McDonald. 


The NZ Amateur Finalist was never behind in the match and his even par round through 15 holes was good enough for a convincing win over McDonald.


Trent Munn, the younger brother of New Zealand rep Josh, wrestled the momentum back for Manawatu / Wanganui with a 2 and 1 win over well-performed Bay of Plenty No.3 Sam Davis.


Munn took the advantage after the turn. He birdied the 11thto go to one up, made par on the 14thto get to 2up and then parred the 17thto finish off the match and put Manawatu up 2 – 1.


The title came down to two matches: the number fours Victor Janin (BOP) versus and Junior Tatana (Manawatu) and Brad Kendall (BOP) versus Josh Munn (Manawatu).


Tatana birdied the 17thto be one up heading down the last but he made a double bogey on the par four 18thto Janin’s bogey for the match to finish all square. 


In the final match Kendall handled the pressure superbly. He went 1up at the 12thand then birdied the 13thto be 2up and in control. He won the 17thto win 2 and 1 and force the match to extra holes.


It capped a remarkable comeback from the Bay of Plenty team. This win sees their phenomenal record at the event continue.


The Bay of Plenty has made the semi-finals 10 times in last 11 years and the finals nine of those 10 times. They have gone onto win seven out of the nine finals they have contested.


Lee and Janin both said they’d love to comeback in the 2013 to defend the title.


“I would love to play for the Bay again, this week has been an awesome experience and to win makes it even better,” said Janin.


Lee added: “I feel really proud to be part of a winning Bay team and to do that again would be a great thing to work towards. We’ll see.”


Toro Men’s Interprovincial – Final Scores – Otago Golf Club, Dunedin 


Bay of Plenty 2 1/2 Manawatu 2 1/2

Bradley Kendall bt Josh Munn 2/1, Peter Lee bt Lachie McDonald 4 /3, Sam Davis lost to Trent Munn 2/1, Victor Janin halved with Junior Tatana*, Landyn Edwards lost to Hayden Ring 2down


*Janin won on the second extra playoff hole. 


Semi Final Scores –  

Bay of Plenty 2 ½ Southland 2 ½ 

Brad Kendall lost to Tyler McLean 1down, Peter Lee* halved with Scott Hellier, Sam Davis bt Liam Balneaves 3/2, Victor Janin bt Jeremy Hall 3/2, Landyn Edwards lost to Matt Tautari 2/1

*Lee beat Hellier on the first playoff hole for Bay of Plenty to win


Manawatu/Wanganui 4 Tasman 1 

Josh Munn bt Blair Riordan 2up, Lachie McDonald lost to Hamish Campbell 5/4, Trent Munn bt Ryan Chisnall 2up, Junior Tatana bt Glenn Drummond 3/2, Hayden Ring bt Nick Ludbrook 1up





    1 Kobori, Kazuma 145.55
    2 Wood, Tyler 103.05
    3 Brown, Luke 95.93
    4 Lee, Jang Hyun 94.57
    5 McLean, Matthew 87.81
    1 Chung, Darae 192.59
    2 Xu, Fiona 146.41
    3 Khoo, Caryn 142.44
    4 Lu, Vivian 131.84
    5 Dryland, Brittney 101.83