Bay of Plenty will face Manawatu / Wanganui in the final of the Men’s Toro Interprovincial after a dramatic morning of semi-final action at the Otago Golf Club. 



Manawatu / Wanganui comfortably defeated Tasman 4 - 1 to book their place in the final while a playoff was required to separate Bay of Plenty and Southland after their match was halved.


Bay of Plenty No.2 Peter Lee, who has gone undefeated all week in a fine performance, squared off with Southland’sScott Hellier as their match was the only one that finished all square.


Lee hit his approach shot to the first playoff hole, the first hole at Balmacewen, to 20 feet from the hole and Hellier put his approach five feet inside Lee’s with both players having testing putts for birdie.


Lee, who earlier this year lost the New Zealand Amateur Final to Southland’s Vaughan McCall, had his own moment of redemption. He sunk the long birdie putt and threw his arms in the air to prompt a loud roar from his team-mates and the sizeable gallery.


Hellier had a must-make putt from 15 feet to give Southland a chance of winning back-to-back titles but he missed.


A jubilant Bay of Plenty team, who turned around their 3 - 2 loss from the final last year, progressed to the final again and it ended a fine effort from Southland in defence of their title.


It continued the Bay’s remarkable run at the event since the semi-finals and final format was introduced in 1985.


The Bay has now made the semi-finals 10 times in last 11 years and has progressed to the finals in nine of those 10 times. They have won six titles in the past 10 years and with that track record will head into the final as favourites.


Manawatu / Wanganui has made the semi-finals on seven occasions, including today, but has never reached the final in the revised format.


They have finished third in 1994, 1996, 1997 and 2003 for their best results since 1985 and have won the title only once in the 61 year history of the event.


The SBS Champions deserve their place in the final. They were far too good for Tasman in the other semi-final with Josh Munn, Trent Munn, Junior Tatana and Hayden Ring winning to secure the victory.


All attention quickly turned to the Southland and Bay of Plenty match. The Southland No. 1 Tyler McLean fought valiantly to keep his team alive with a 1up win over his rival Brad Kendall before Lee’s heroics got the Bay home.           





    1 Kobori, Kazuma 145.55
    2 Wood, Tyler 103.05
    3 Brown, Luke 95.93
    4 Lee, Jang Hyun 94.57
    5 McLean, Matthew 87.81
    1 Chung, Darae 192.59
    2 Xu, Fiona 146.41
    3 Khoo, Caryn 142.44
    4 Lu, Vivian 131.84
    5 Dryland, Brittney 101.83