The best 75 golfers from around the country will converge on the oldest course in New Zealand at Balmacewen this week for a highly anticipated Toro Men’s Interprovincial.


The title is wide open in 2012 with a number of team’s fancying their chances to claim the coveted team’s trophy after Southland won for the first time in 60 years in 2011 at the Poverty Bay Golf Club.


The defending champions will be without New Zealand’s No.1 amateur Vaughan McCall, who has been invited to play the Australian Open, and Cody Harper, who has since turned professional.  


There are quality players across a number of teams and Dave Mangan, the New Zealand Golf General Manager, said that it is not easy to pick a clear favourite for the 2012 event.


“The New Zealand Golf scene has changed a bit since the last Toro with a group of players like Ben Campbell, Fraser Wilkin, Mathew Perry, Daniel Pearce and Cody Harper all turning professional so there are some new look teams,” said Mangan.  


“The traditional powerhouses of Bay of Plenty, Waikato, Auckland and Wellington have young teams this year and it promises to be an exciting tournament.”


Auckland is the second most successful team in the tournament’s history with 12 wins and will be hoping to end a prolonged drought in the event as they haven’t won since 1995.


Wellington, who won the 2011 event at Paraparaumu Beach, remains the most successful team in the history of the Toro Interprovincial with 13 wins. 


Waikato, who has lost New Zealand rep Mathew Perry, will have South Island Stroke Play Champion Compton Pikari at No.1 as they look to add to their seven wins in the event.


Meanwhile Bay of Plenty, who has won six titles in the past 10 years, has New Zealand Amateur finalist Peter Lee, the 2010 NZ Stroke Play Champion Bradley Kendall and well-performed Toro player Landyn Edwards in their team.


Mangan liked the look of a few challengers to the big four.


“Otago will be hard to beat around their home track and Tasman and Canterbury have teams with well performed national players in them. 


Nine time champions Canterbury received a boost two weeks ago when five of their players - Owen Burgess, Harry Bateman, Nic Kay, Tom Turner and reserve Jason Yoo - made it through Final Qualifying to play in the BMW NZ Open.


Their No.1 Jordan Bakermans, who missed the NZ Open because he was playing in Argentina, returns to the red and black team and adds resilience to the team who is looking to win the event for the first time since 2000.


Mangan added: “With the event wide open I think that the young Northland team will surprise a few and are a good chance of making the semifinals and from there anything can happen.” 


The Toro Interprovincial returns to the Otago Golf Club – Balmacewen – for the first time since 1997. It holds a special place in the history of New Zealand Golf.


“The Balmacewen course is the oldest in New Zealand has been turned out in fantastic condition for this event,” said Mangan.


“It’s a course steeped in history with some of the world’s greatest golfers like Arnold Palmer, Gene Sarazen, Bobby Locke and Gary Player having graced its fairways. 


“The course is really well suited for match play with players given the option from a lot of the par fours by playing aggressively and hitting driver off the tee or playing more conservatively.”


The stage is set for the 61stedition of the Toro Men’s Interprovincial. The oldest course in the southern hemisphere is ready to host a memorable chapter in the signature event of team golf in New Zealand. 


2012 Toro Men’s Interprovincial Team’s:

Northland: 1 Luke Brown, 2 Alex Neely, 3 Chase McKeown, 4 Sean Masters, 5 Brad Bonnington, Reserve: Kadin Neho, Manager Roy Pelsky

North Harbour: 1 Cameron Jones, 2 Kevin Budden, 3 James Davis, 4 David Feeney, 5 Jason Gulasekharam, Reserve: Harry Yang, Manager George Newlove

Auckland: 1 Sam An, 2 Nick Voke, 3 Tae Koh, 4 Jonny Ratcliffe, 5                Josh Leitch, Reserve: Shiv Sabherwal, Manager: Warren Leitch

Waikato: 1 Compton Pikari, 2 Luke Toomey, 3 Tom Brockelsby, 4 Ho Jun Sung, 5 Steven Kuggeleijn, Reserve: Nick Coxon,                

Bay of Plenty: 1 Brad Kendall, 2 Peter Lee, 3 Sam Davis, 4 Victor Janin, 5 Landyn Edwards, Reserve: William Howard, Manager: Aaron Walsh

Hawkes Bay: 1 Richard Squire, 2 Ben Swinburne, 3 Russell Mitchell, 4 Max Gill, 5 Madison Noakes, Reserve: Carlos Tawera,                

Poverty Bay: 1 Steven Donnelly, 2 Andrew Higham, 3 William Brown, 4 Ruel Pedersen, 5 Matthew Mackey, Reserve: Tony Ackroyd,, Manager: David Keown

Taranaki: 1 Brad Hayward, 2 Jaime Reid, 3 Zac Lewis, 4 Joseph Doyle, 5 Brook Gray, Reserve: John Newland, Manager: John Newland

Manawatu / Wanganui: 1 Josh Munn, 2 Lachie McDonald, 3 Trent Munn, 4 Junior Tatana, 5 Hayden Ring, Reserve: Willie Steer Manager: David Taylor

Wellington: 1 Marc Jennings, 2 Fraser Maclachan, 3 James Donnelly, 4 Adam Church, 5 Peter Brinsdon Reserve: Brayden Mazey, Manager: Geoff Smart

Tasman: 1 Blair Riordan, 2 Hamish Campbell, 3 Ryan Chisnall, 4    Glen Drummond, 5 Nick Ludbrook, Reserve: Tom Dasler, Manager: Jeff Riordan

Canterbury: 1 Jordan Bakermans, 2 Owen Burgess, 3 Harry Bateman, 4 Nic Kay, 5 Tom Turner, Reserve: Jason Yoo, Manager Rod Hayes

Aorangi: 1 Cameron Grant, 2 Jordan Green, 3 Garth Simpson, 4 Damian Rodgers, 5 George Wardell, Reserve: Matthew McLean, Manager: Grant Williams

Otago: 1 Brent McEwan, 2 Michael Smith, 3 Samson Kim, 4 Brandon Hodgson, 5 Tony Giles, Reserve: Mark Collie, Manager: Bill Trewen

Southland: 1 Tyler McLean, 2 Scott Hellier, 3 Liam Balneaves, 4 Jeremy Hall, 5 Matt Tautari, Reserve: Kyle Dobbie, Manager: Phil McDonald


Toro Men’s Interprovincial Team Wins

13 Wellington

12 Auckland

9 Canterbury

7 Waikato

6 Bay of Plenty

5 Manawatu / Wanganui

3 Otago, Hawkes Bay

1 Tasman, North Harbour, Southland 






    1 Kobori, Kazuma 128.65
    2 Lee, Jang Hyun 112.36
    3 Wood, Tyler 92.45
    4 Brown, Luke 83.91
    5 Hillier, Daniel 81.78
    1 Chung, Darae 124.32
    2 Khoo, Caryn 113.33
    3 Lee, Jeong Hyun 103.20
    4 Dryland, Brittney 91.91
    5 Xu, Fiona 89.60