Wellington have won the Toro Interprovincial Championship in dominant fashion at the New Plymouth Golf club, defeating Otago by a monstrous margin of five nil in the final.

Watch the highlights - CLICK HERE

Daniel Hillier def Fraser MacLachlan (match conceded 2up through 15), Jonathan Cane def Brandon Hodgson 4/3, Elton Nicholson def Inia Logan 5/4, Ben Slaven def Michael Smith 2/1, Kerry Mountcastle def Chris Snow 3/2.

It has been six long years between victories for Wellington Golf and they didn’t give their opposition a chance of making it seven by playing their best golf of the week.


Jono Cane who featured in the 2001 side that won at this very venue couldn’t hide his emotion after getting back in the winner’s circle.

“It’s an amazing feeling! 15 years to the dot since I first started playing and 2010 since Wellington last one it and I can’t really describe it,” said an ecstatic Cane.

“Everyone here has put in the utmost effort and deserve every bit, from the management to the reserves and family. We had to play some of the best golf of our life to do it against some great sides so it feels pretty special.”

Before his recent Interprovincial wins, Cane spent 13 years away from the game so his comeback has been quite remarkable.

“To be honest this is the reason I came back playing. I had twelve or thirteen years off and the thing I missed the most was the Wellington teams. I have played for New Zealand and it’s amazing, but you don’t forget these moments. This is my fourth win and it means no less than the other three, so it’s pretty special.

With a great mix of youth and experience Wellington never looked in doubt with Kerry Mountcastle continuing his winning ways in the number five position to record their first point early with a 3&2 victory over Chris Snow. Mountcastle was in the running for player of the tournament with a record of six wins and two halves.

There was no stopping Wellington from there as the results started pouring in with Elton Nicholson turning on another clinical display to complete a great 5&4 win over Inia Logan, before Cane sealed the deal on the 15th hole to send the Wellington side into hysterics.

These two sides also met in pool play yesterday which the new champions also won 3 ½ to 1 ½ to justify their position as New Zealand’s best team.

For Otago, it is yet another year of ‘what if’ as the curse continues losing in the final for the third straight time at the Toro Interprovincials. This Otago side showed huge fight to earn another ticket into the final, but simply couldn’t match this well-groomed Wellington outfit.
Wellington number one Daniel Hillier has been awarded player of the tournament after an undefeated week that included an outstanding 4&3 (eight under through 15 holes) in the semi-final before his convincing 2up conceded victory to provide big wins on the biggest day.

“It’s nice to get recognised as player of the tournament, but mate, this feeling is unbelievable! The boys have worked so hard all week and it’s a great result of what we have been doing the last twelve months and we are going to celebrate big tonight!” Said an ecstatic Hillier.

“It’s great for Wellington golf with so many young golfers around the region watching us during the week and it’s nice to show them that Wellington is a province that can play and it’s going to be great for the youngsters in future years.”

There were many impressive records throughout the week with six players remaining undefeated. This included Luke Toomey (Waikato), Nick Coxon (Waikato), Henry Spring (BOP), Landyn Edwards (BOP) and Kerry Mountcastle (Wellington) along with player of the tournament Daniel Hillier.

The tournament now moves further North to Mangawhai where Northland will play host in 2017. They will have a tough act to follow after the amazing support from the beautiful New Plymouth Golf Club.



Daniel Hillier def Fraser Maclachlan (match conceded 2up through 15), Jonathan Cane def Brandon Hodgson 4/3, Elton Nicholson def Inia Logan 5/4, Ben Slaven def Michael Smith 2/1, Kerry Mountcastle def Chris Snow 3/2.



Luke Toomey halved with Fraser MacLachlan, Nick Coxon halved with Brandon Hodgson, Matt Morris halved with Inia Logan, Charlie Smail lost to Michael Smith 1up, Chris Charlton lost to Chris Snow 2/1

Daniel Hillier def Jason Gulasekharam 4/3, Jonathan Cane halved with Cameron Jones

Elton Nicholson def Chang-Gi Lee 3/2, Ben Slaven lost to Mark Hutson 5/4, Kerry Mountcastle halved with Jake Meenhorst

Wellington (Champions), Otago (medal), Waikato (medal), North Harbour


Waikato 5½ 22

North Harbour 5 20½

Bay of Plenty 4½ 21

Man/Wang 3 16

Auckland 2½ 14½

Poverty Bay EC 2 9

Hawkes Bay 1½ 8½

Aorangi 0 8½


Wellington 5 19½

Otago 4 16

Canterbury 3½ 16

Taranaki 2½ 15

Southland 2½ 13

Tasman 2 11½

Northland 1½ 14



    Order of Merit data is currently unavailable please check back later

    Order of Merit data is currently unavailable please check back later