New Zealand Golf has named an experienced team to contest the Eisenhower World Amateur Teams Championship in Turkey in October. 

The team to contest The Eisenhower Trophy from October 1 – 4 at the Antalya and Cornelia Golf Clubs is Ben Campbell (Masterton), Vaughan McCall (Gore) and Mathew Perry (Hamilton). The men’s team will be captained and managed by former Eisenhower rep Brent Paterson (1986 and 1990).

The men’s team has been hotly contested throughout the past two years and the selection process has been rigorous for the New Zealand selectors.

The leading points of the selection criteria were form and experience.

New Zealand Golf Chief Executive Dean Murphy believed that, after a tight race for the three positions, the selectors had chosen an experienced team with a proven track record on the international stage.

“Ben, Vaughan and Mat have been consistent performers as New Zealand reps over the past two years,” said Murphy.

“Ben will travel to his second Eisenhower tournament after performing well in Argentina and it has been great to see him come back into some form in 2012 and get back to the player we know.

“Vaughan has had a phenomenal year and a half in the local scene and his win of both the New Zealand Stroke Play and New Zealand Amateur displayed his newfound maturity and confidence.

“Mathew Perry is a former New Zealand Amateur Champion and has a great record of performing well when he represents New Zealand on the world stage.

“The selection process for this team has been thorough. It is one of the most hotly contested Eisenhower teams in recent time and we expect these three players will combine well as a team and to be competitive.”

It is 20 years since New Zealand famously won the Eisenhower Trophy in Canada. The team of Phil Tataurangi, Michael Campbell, Stephen Scahill and Grant Moorhead won by seven shots ahead of favourites America.

In 2010, the men’s team of Campbell, Ryan Fox and Peter Spearman-Burn finished fourth in the Eisenhower in Argentina and Campbell finished fourth individual.

This team of Campbell, McCall and Perry were all part of the New Zealand team who won the Sloan Morpeth Trophy in Australia earlier this year.

Campbell, who won the Carrus Tauranga Open on the Charles Tour in 2010, was at one stage the number six amateur in the world.

He first announced his arrival when he defeated Danny Lee as a 16-year-old to claim the New Zealand Under 23 Championship. Campbell has twice finished as runner-up in the Australian Amateur and in 2011 he finished runner-up at the Asia Pacific Amateur Golf Championship.

McCall from the Gore Golf Club won the South Island Stroke Play in 2011 and then led Southland to their first win in the Toro Interprovincial in 61 years when they defeated Bay of Plenty in the final.

In 2012, those record breaking feats have continued. He was the first golfer from Southland to win the New Zealand Stroke Play when he claimed the St Andrews Salver at the Hastings Golf Club.

The 20-year-old backed it up to be the first golfer to win both the NZ Stroke Play and NZ Amateur titles in the same year in 24 years and the first Kiwi to do the rare double in 39 years after Tauranga golfer Mike Nicholson won both events at the Springfield Golf Club in 1973.

Perry has long been touted as one of the best amateurs in the New Zealand game and he confirmed his ability when he won the New Zealand Amateur title in 2011.

It was his landmark achievement of his amateur career. He became the first golfer from the Hamilton Golf Club to win the title since Colin Taylor in 1983 (Titirangi) and the fifth in the club’s history after Taylor, Stuart Reese (1975), D.L (Tim) Woon (1953, 54) and Sloan Morpeth (1920). He went onto finish fourth on the NZ Golf Order of Merit in 2011.

Perry has been a consistent performer for New Zealand for the past couple of years representing NZ at the Trans-Tasman Cup, Nomura Cup, Four Nations and in 2012 he represented NZ in the Asia Pacific team in the Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy. Perry played superbly in Portugal for the event where he was the equal-best player from the losing Asia Pacific team for the week.

The Eisenhower Trophy began in 1958 with the first event staged at the Old Course at St Andrews and recent tournaments have featured teams from around 75 countries.

It is a stroke play event, in which the best two individual scores from three players in each team count towards the final score. Up until 2002 it was the best three of four scores.

New Zealand team to contest the Eisenhower World Amateur Team’s Championship:

Ben Campbell (Masterton)

Vaughan McCall (Gore)

Mathew Perry (Hamilton)

Non playing captain: Brent Paterson 




    1 Hillier, Daniel 242.40
    2 Mountcastle, Kerry 190.16
    3 McLean, Matthew 119.50
    4 Koong, Kevin 115.66
    5 Lee, Jang Hyun 99.62
    1 Dryland, Brittney 214.51
    2 Hung, Juliana 188.00
    3 Jung, Miree 157.69
    4 Lu, Vivian 125.60
    5 Khoo, Caryn 102.50